Memory Month Day 26: It’s All about the List

via pixabay
via pixabay

So, this week I had set on the mission of figuring out how I can make use of the memory palace to its fullest capacity. Indeed, it seemed to me like it was one of those mnemonics that is so complex and so amazing, that I should be using it more in my day to day life.

As I mentioned, I couldn’t figure out another use for it besides lists. And you know, there are only so many things in one’s life that come in the shape of lists. Grocery shopping is one of the things that heavily relies on that, sure. But what about beyond that? Isn’t it a shame that here I was, with a great mnemonic, but with nothing to show for it?

In trying to figure things out, this is what I figured: you can use the memory palace for so much more than grocery lists! The catch? You have to make the thing that you want to remember into a list, or something like it. Not always, but most of the time.

For instance, if you’re trying to remember the definition of the word, you should identify key words in the definition, and then place them in your memory palace in the order in which they appear in the definition. Same goes for nearly anything.

/Larisa

Get in touch with me on Facebook ! 🙂

Let me know what you think!

