Memory Month Day 25: Because One Palace Just Wasn’t Enough…

Via Wikipedia

A few days ago, I talked about the process of coming up with a memory palace, and I told you that after giving it some thought, I finally made my decision. Then, yesterday, I told you about the fact that I seemed to have forgotten to actually make my mental entrance into my memory palace, which meant that all the work I did of coming up with images that reminded me of the things I had to do was …well, for nothing. Yaaay!

Well, today I think I finally figured out how to solve this problem. You see, the key is in using the place where you’re currently living. That’s because if you plant images in your mind for certain locations in the house, when you go through those locations, you’re very likely to remember what it is you’re supposed to be doing. And guess what! This technique worked wonders for me this morning, despite being in a terrible rush to get to class.

But here’s the problem: what if you’ve just moved into a new place, and your memory palace is of the old place? Or what if you’re just simply more comfortable with a different place than the one in which you’re currently living? Well, my darling, I think the answer to that is that you can have 2 memory palaces: one for remembering concepts, and one for remembering actual lists or things you have to do.

/Larisa

Get in touch with me on Facebook ! 🙂

Let me know what you think!

