Memory Month Day 23: Troubles Building the Palace

Via wikipedia

Did you ever have to build a palace? No? Ok, me neither.

I do, however, have to build a sort of palace in my mind, so that I can use the method of loci, which is also known as the memory palace.

If you remember from last year, this palace doesn’t have to be a palace at all. It can simply be an apartment, a room, or even a tent. What the space is doesn’t matter as much as how well you know the space. Indeed, for this to work, you have to be very familiar to the place. Otherwise, you might run into the problem of forgetting what your space actually looks like, which means that whatever clues you’ve planted in your mind to help you remember whatever else, will be forgotten as well.

So, you see, I’ve been trying to choose my space very wisely, so that I won’t end up in that situation. Last year I didn’t have this problem: it was much easier for me to pick the space, and actually, I never ended up forgetting what it looked like. Admittedly, it would have been a bit ridiculous, since I lived in that apartment.

This time around, however, I want to make 100% sure that I know the space inside and out…actually, let me take that back, I only need to know it inside. But I bet you get the point.

The reason for this is because I feel like this is the only way in which I’ll be able to build on what I did last year.

So, finally, in the evening, I managed to decide on a space. I decided to use a part of an apartment, as opposed to the entire thing, or to just a room. I felt like this way, I would have an easier time laying out more complex concepts, while for the more simple ones, I could just use the entryway.

/Larisa

Let me know what you think!

