Memory Month Day 15: What’s in a Story?

Via flickr

Today marks the beginning of yet another theme, which is the one where I relate the things that I want to remember to myself. This, of course, means that I will no longer be using the method of coming up with stories. Well, I might still use it, but it will definitely not be the center of attention.

So, what have I learnt from this week? First of all, stories are FUN! It’s so much easier to remember boring material with this method than by using the classic method of just repeating the material over and over again. I mean, in all honesty, I think repeating something to yourself, while it might work, probably has the superpower of making even the most interesting material become boring. What a shitty superpower!

The other thing that I learnt this week is that coming up with stories engages your brain in quite a different way than other mnemonics do. I mean, they all rely on creativity to some extent, but this one just takes it to a whole new level, which is a great thing. Not only are you improving your memory, but you’re also improving your creativity, all in one go!

/Larisa

Get in touch with me on Facebook ! 🙂

Let me know what you think!

