Memory Month Day 1: Why Mind Maps?

Via wikipedia

The first day of Memory Month went pretty well. Since I knew that the next day I was going to have a midterm, I mostly studied, but I also left myself some time to start watching a TV show, which was great. Well, it might not have been the wisest decision I could have taken, but it ended up being a lot of fun, so I don’t regret it. The TV show I’m talking about is Friends. Now, I know what you’re thinking “You haven’t watched Friends until now?”, and maybe “Have you been living under a rock?”, and who knows what else! I understand that your surprise, but hey! At least I started to watch it now 😀

Anyway, back to the topic. While studying today, I got a chance to use the memory aid I will be using this week, which is the mind map.

You might be wondering why is it that I’ve decided to include this technique in this year’s challenge. Well, you see, remembering things is all about playing with them in your mind in as many ways as possible. Making a mind map, and figuring out how to organize things is one of the ways in which you can do just that. It’s quite helpful too, because it makes it easier for you to categorize concepts in your mind, which also makes it more likely that you’ll be able to recall them later.

Plus, they’re fun to make! Well, at least they’re more fun than making the usual type of notes, right? You can get creative, use colors, and connect concepts to one another quite readily.

Let’s see if it will help with my exam 🙂

/Larisa

Confused about what’s going on? Click here!

Get in touch with me!  🙂

Facebook

Let me know what you think!

