Why I Don’t Mind Screaming Babies on Planes

Via Flickr

Looking thorough posts online, one inevitably notices that there are a lot of people who complain about screaming babies on planes. You know, I understand where they’re coming from. The sound of babies crying is anything but pleasant. Evolutionary, it makes sense: the more annoying it is, the more likely it is that the parents will do just about anything to fulfill the baby’s need and get him or her to shut up.

Plus, when you’re exhausted, and you’re on a flight that takes hours to get to its destination, the last thing you want is to have a baby’s cry as your constant background sound. I get it, because I’ve been there. Several times.

But here’s the deal: no matter how much you’re bothered by it, the parents are “bothered” even more. Not just in the sense that it annoys them, but that it also worries them. Well, of course it does. Their baby is crying, and they can’t do much of anything to calm him or her down.

I’ve seen people say that the parents aren’t doing anything to make the baby stop crying. I think those people just happened not to be close to the people in question, because damn, they couldn’t be more off. I’ve seen parents do anything from rocking their baby while they’re sitting up, to constantly walking up and down the aisles with their babies, to singing to them quietly.

Plus, these people are tired too. Not only are they taking a trip with a plane, which is trying in it of itself, but they’re also dealing with a baby. I can’t even imagine how hard that must be.

So, what I’m trying to say here is this: stop whining about this. The babies are already doing a superb job at it as it is.

Get in touch with me!  🙂

Facebook

Let me know what you think!

