Why Love Rain?

via Pixabay
via Pixabay

Vancouver is known for its rainy weather…Sometimes it feels like it’s the only kind this city has (though, of course, this is by no means the case).

Because of this, it’s quite easy to get annoyed with this weather, especially when you’re wearing really nice clothes that get completely wet by the time you reach your destination. The worst is when you don’t realize it will rain that day, so you wear clothing that’s completely inappropriate for what’s going on outside. I had this happen to me the other week, when I wore my oxfords. The result was that I had my pants soaked way above the ankle. The weather sure has its way of letting us know it’s time to change the wardrobe, doesn’t it?

Let’s not even think of the tragedy of forgetting the umbrella home. Despite the fact that I’m quite good when it comes to having an umbrella with me at all time (you’re not tricking me, Sun!), it happens every once in a while that I leave it at home…Now I’m a lot better at it, because I have a small umbrella, that’s nearly glued to my bag, so that this doesn’t happen again.

Despite all these problems that rain brings with, it is also something to appreciate, because it brings a lot of benefits. I won’t go here for the obvious ones (like, not having to water your plants all the time). So, let’s have a look:

1) Rain is relaxing

Goodness gracious! It’s one of the best therapies out there, I kid you not! There are few things that are as amazing as the sound of rain, falling on the pavement, on the window, or even on my umbrella. It’s like a magic eraser, that takes away all the worry and stress that I accumulate during the day.

2)Rain is beautiful

Have you ever actually looked at rain? I don’t mean just to see it, because we all do that, at least when we’re walking through it. The way the drops fall, and splash into the puddles on the ground is magnificent. There’s few things that are as beautiful as the subtle sparkle that rain brings to everything it touches.

3)Rain is motivating

I don’t know about you, but I always seem to have a hard time getting things done when it’s sunny outside. Instead of thinking of my homework, or whatever else needs to be finished, I tend to think of how much I’d like to go take a walk, or just sit somewhere in a park and listen to birds sing. Well, guess what? I never think of this when it’s raining, because as beautiful as the songs of birds are, I’d rather stay dry. So, I stay at home and work and work and work.

4)Rain is practical

Do you own a car? Do you hate to get it washed? Let the rain do all that for you! For only the cost of the gas you’ll use while driving around town in the rain, you’ll get a decently to not-so-decently done job. Boom!

 

I hope you enjoyed this list of benefits that rain brings with it 🙂

/Larisa

 

Let me know what you think!

