Taking a Break, and Why It’s Important

Via pixabay
Via pixabay

So…it’s Sunday Fun Day, right?

Oh hahah! Just kidding! There’s no such thing for a student. Sunday is usually Study Day. As is Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday…you get the point.

However, you can’t just study constantly, because that would probably be the best recipe for insanity. Some breaks are required, so that you brain can take a breather, and so, when you’ll come back to your notes, you’ll be fresh and ready to take more information in.

It’s what I do, anyway, and when I manage to do it right, it’s quite effective. However, this doesn’t happen all the time. Why? Well, because whenever I take a break, the time seems to miraculously flow by, and when I look at the clock to see how much longer I can enjoy my break, I nearly always seem to find out that my break is already over…and then some.

I thought about just skipping the whole break thing, but then I realized that I shouldn’t, because I treasure my sanity. Plus, breaks have amazing benefits, in addition to the ones i just mentioned. For example,

1)Helps you remain focused when you get back to work.

2)Keeps you more energetic throughout the day.

3)Refreshes your memory.

4)Takes the stress levels down.

5)Improves creativity.

With all these reasons to take a break, who would refuse to do it? Not me, that’s for sure! However, it is important to keep in mind that not all breaks are created equal. That is, there are breaks that are effective, and others that are…not so effective.

For instance, if you take a break from your work, only to start…say, studying. That’s not a real break, and you shouldn’t expect much results from that.

Instead, what you could do is:

1) Eat. Just eat; don’t do anything else.

2)Listen to music, preferably relaxing music,

3)Meditate.

4) Take a short (about 15-20 mins) nap.

5)Go for a walk in nature.

6)Go for a run.

Do you have a favorite way of spending your breaks? Mine is listening to music 🙂

/Larisa

Let me know what you think!

