The Good Side of Being Sick

Via Flickr

This upcoming Monday is Canada’s Thanksgiving day, which means that we (and by “we”, I mean students, and really, anyone else), get a longer weekend. Now, I’m all for having a long weekend, especially if it means that I get to get my stuff together.

In my last post, I talked about how school had gotten a little out of hand, which is why now I was very happy to have that extra day off to put everything in order, and start the new week organized.

But this is not all that this Thanksgiving weekend is all about, now is it? This holiday is a great time to sit back and think of all the things you have to be thankful for. This type of exercise is a great means by which you can bring your spirit up if you’re feeling a bit down, and lets face it: with the weather starting to act up, and the days becoming shorter and shorter, most of us can’t help but feel off.

So, I had one more reason to be excited about this upcoming weekend; I mean, not only do I get to organize what feels like my entire life, but I also get special time reserved for being thankful.

And then…then I go ahead and get sick.

This whole thing started with a massive sore throat that I wasn’t able to tame with tons of tea, so I had to go and get Strepsils, which really did the trick. I was pretty content about the state of affairs, until I woke up the next day, and it was worse. Not the sore throat, because that was halfway gone, but the “state of affairs”. I was coughing a lot, my nose was runny, and my head hurt. “It’s alright“, I thought, and I went to my class, trying my best to keep as much distance as possible from my other classmates.

Finally, today, I woke up, and it was much worse. I can’t pinpoint what exactly had gotten worse, but what I do know is that there was a lot of aches and dizziness involved. At this point, I decided to stay at home, because I figured that the not-so-friendly weather outside would only make things worse.

So, there I was, sitting on the couch and watching Youtube videos, while mentally complaining about my luck. But then I realized that being sick is not all that bad. Wait…don’t go thinking that I like being sick, or that I promote upping the “getting sick” rate. However, there are things that we can be thankful for even when it comes to being sick:

1) You can take naps at random times during the day, without having anyone judge you

“What, you’re going to sleep at 5:30 pm? Ok, sweety, go right ahead. Feel better by the time you wake up!” Are you kidding me? Were it not for having a cold, this would have gone something like ” What? Now?! How on earth are you going to sleep at night then?”.

2) You can be lazy without feeling bad about it

Well, partially, because if you have a great deal of things that need to be done, you’re probably going to feel a little bad anyway. But then you’ll remember that you’re sick, and you’ll realize that you need to rest in order to get better, so hey! What can you do about that?

3) You can drink pretty much everything that’s in the house

Except for alcohol. Anything other than that is fair game. Seriously, though…If I can remember correctly, today I drank an entire bottle of sparkling water, and I’m halfway through my second one, three big cups of tea (with lemon, mind you), and two glasses of carrot and apple juice.

4) You can stay in your pjs the whole day

See, I usually do this on lazy days even when I’m not really sick, but then I feel bad about it, so I end up changing at some point. But not I’m sick! That’s really the only time when I feel no remorse about sporting my pajamas as my morning, afternoon, and evening outfit.

5) You can actually do stuff that you feel like doing …

…as opposed to regular days, when you’re so busy that you can’t actually do what you really want to. For me, that was cooking and baking today. It was great to have some activity to keep me moving, since I get painfully bored just sitting on the couch the entire day.

So, that was it! These are the things I like about being sick (yes, I realize how bizarre this sounds). But it just goes to show that if you look closely enough, you can find things to be thankful for even in the worst of situations.

Have a good weekend!

/Larisa

Get in touch with me!  🙂

Facebook

Related:

Be Thankful, by Bonjourjennifer

Thanksgiving in Canada, by Bbgoodman

Pumpkins, Gratitude, and Oh Yeah – My Box, by Melsfoodblog

Let me know what you think!

