Today I Feel Like Doing Nothing…and Why I Hate Days Like This

Via Wikipedia

We’ve all had days like these, in which bathing in an absolute state of utter laziness is the only thing we want to do. I know I’ve had my fair share…Of course, I use the term “do” here rather generously, for it is precisely the absence or lack of doing that is sought on such days.

It is ironic to me just how strong this feeling is, despite the fact that I absolutely hate such days. Do keep in mind that “hate” is a word I do my best to refrain as much as possible from using, due to its strength. Regardless, I will not even attempt to refrain from using it in this situation, because it portrays my feelings all too well.

You see, I like accomplishing things. They don’t need to be huge, or extremely important (though I wouldn’t mind it), as long as at the end of the day, I can proudly look back and see that something got done. Little things, like cleaning up a room, or reading 20 pages from a book can make me feel like the day wasn’t wasted.

One of the people I respect the most used to constantly remind me that each day I need to be better than I was the day before. He referred specifically to learning, because he was a teacher, and so this followed naturally. However, I think this can be taken more generally. You can be a better person by doing a simple gesture, such as giving an elder your seat on the bus. And then of course, you can be a better person by gaining more knowledge, by adding to the pool of known information yet another fact.

I believe in being better each day very strongly. This is like a driving force, able to give constant motivation.

And yet, there are days when “being accomplished” is the last thing I want to achieve, on a practical level. I say “on a practical level”, because as far as my beliefs go, they don’t change. Strangely enough, my desires collide. Here I am, stuck between not what I want to do and what I should do, but between what I want to do, and what I want to do. A strange feeling, indeed!

At the end of the day, I always try as best as I can to remind myself that this feeling of laziness is nothing more than the result of chemicals working funny in my brain. That’s all there is to it, though it sure feels like much, much more.

The thing that always ends up helping me get over this “I feel like doing nothing” feeling is always thinking of how important it is to me to advance each and every day. As I said, I don’t strive for necessarily big things. Something easy is enough, so long as it gets me going. The rest comes easy after that.

 

Then, of course, there are days in which taking a break is a good idea. But there’s a crucial difference between these types of days, and days like today, and this difference rests in a conscious decision to take a break. I figure this is much better than falling pray to chemistry that has gone awry.

Is there anything that motivates you to keep moving even when you reaaally don’t feel like it? I’d love to hear your input on this one 🙂

/Larisa

Let me know what you think!

