Memory Month Day 22: The King of Mnemonics

There’s a reason I let the method of the Memory Palace to take center stage on the very last week of the challenge. That reason is that this technique is a combination of other techniques used to enhance memory.

  Via Wikipedia

 

The Memory Palace is the most complex of all the mnemonic devices I’ve used this month. For starters, it uses visualization quite heavily, because in order to use it, you have to paint a very vivid picture in your mind. That picture should be of a place that you know extremely well. Thus, you can take advantage of your knowledge of that place, and make it help you recall important things. On top of that, you also use visualizing when it comes to the actual thing you have to remember. If it is a specific date, perhaps you’ll imagine a calendar opened at that specific month, and with that specific date circled. Or maybe this isn’t complex enough, and you’ll prefer to build an entire story in your mind to help you remember.

The Memory Palace also uses the technique of grouping things together. Inherently, because it uses a space (such as a house, and apartment or even just a room), it is bound to categorize things into groups.

Rhyming and acronyms require a little more work to be incorporated into this technique, but it’s not that difficult. You can easily use a short poem as a background song playing once you enter your Memory Palace. Or perhaps you can imagine the letters of an acronym painted on one of the wall of your space.

Notice that I used the word “easily”. That might make you think that I believe this method is simple to apply. I don’t. Since it is the most complex mnemonic device I’ve heard of, it comes with its costs. To begin, you have to get creative in order to use it. Real creative. Plus, you also have to spend a lot of time and effort into “building” it, so that you can ensure that it will give you the best results possible.

It’s quite a challenging technique. The funny thing is, I realized this right off the bat. However, now, that I have to actually work with it, its difficulty starts to sink in. For starters, I don’t even know what space to use as its base. I have a few in mind, but I can’t quite decide. And then there’s the practicability issue: it’s hard to figure out exactly what I can use this method for.

Let’s see….I could use it for remembering lists (such as for groceries), for dates, as I pointed out earlier…And I’m running out of ideas. Appointments could also work, and I know this thanks to the Mentalist. Well, I suppose this is a pretty good list I have so far. It’s short, but it does include things that are very important for every day life.

Now all I have to do is think really well of what space I want use as my Memory Palace!

/Larisa

  • Confused about what’s going on? Click here!
  • For the post that started this challenge, click here.
  • For yesterday’s entry, click here.

 

Let me know what you think!

