Memory Month Day 12: Feelin’ the Stress

Today is the day that the metaphorical storm I was referring to in yesterday’s post has started. Today, the stress begun to sink in deeper and deeper in my mind, making me both terrified and motivated when it comes to the tasks I have to accomplish until the end of the week. And boy, are there a lot of those!

DSCN0373

The problem with stress (aside from being an overall negative experience), is that it consumes your mind. This means that instead of having a mind that capable of performing all the great things it is meant to, you get a mind that is “weighed down” by the stress. As such, performance on all kinds of abilities goes down. Have you guessed what specific ability I have in mind? Yup, it’s memory.

As I discussed in the post I made on tips for improving the memory, one of the factors that goes into a mind that’s able to recall information effortlessly is good health. Take that any way you wish (because good mental health can refer to a lot), but what I am referring to now is a mind that’s calm. Being calm offers your mind a clean canvas on which it can built information. It makes sense, doesn’t it? A worry free mind will always be better off at virtually any kind of performance (aside from worrying, of course), because it doesn’t have a large chunk of energy being thrown away into worries.

But how do we achieve this type of worry free mind when you need it? In short, you don’t. Unless you’re absolutely brilliant at meditating, you’re probably not going to be able to remain worry free. But, as I discussed before, this isn’t necessarily a bad thing. Stress=motivation, and motivation= increased work.

What we do want to stay away from, however, is extreme stress. When the stress becomes too strong, you’re probably going to “freeze” and not do anything at all about the cause of the stress. In addition, strong stress can take a toll on your health, both physical and mental.

So how do we try to get the “right” level of stress? By keeping it down as much as possible through various activities. I’ll be repeating myself again, but remember that physical exercise and meditating can go a long way. I didn’t use to believe this. I remember I would hear it, and instantly think that there is absolutely nothing in the world that could take my stress level down. Then, however, I started realizing that our entire physiology is built around movement. We need movement to function properly, and when we don’t get it…things just aren’t right. As for meditating, it can do wonders to your mind. Remember all that talk I had on taking at least one day off to relax, without having something in the back of your head? Meditating can give you at least a few minutes of such peaceful bliss.

But, at the end of the day, we all have our methods. I also love listening to classical music in order to relax. Also, if I have time, I normally like to watch some stand up comedies, in order to get my mind off the stress.

Do you have any special techniques of dealing with stress? I’d love to hear them! 🙂

/Larisa

  • Confused about what’s going on? Click here!
  • For the post that started this challenge, click here.
  • For yesterday’s entry, click here.
Let me know what you think!

