Memory Month Day 11: The Calm Before the Storm

This week is going to be a pretty hectic one. Thankfully, it didn’t really start off that way, which gives me a chance to ease into the mountain of things I have to do.

DSCN0624

Or at least that’s what I like to think. In truth, whenever I have a stressful period ahead of me, I do one of two things: I’m either waaaay too relaxed, or I start feeling really stressed ahead of time. None of these techniques are particularly effective, but if I had to choose one, I’d go with the “being stressed one”.

It sounds a little counter intuitive, but is it? The feeling of stressed was developed in order to get us motivated, as I discussed in my post for day 9 of this challenge. Not being stressed, on the other hand, might be great for my overall well-being. Not so much in terms of the task I have to get done. This is why, given the choice, I’d go with the condition that offers me the most chances of successfully doing whatever it is I have to do.

But you know what I would like even more? A perfect combination between stress and relaxation! Does that even exist? In theory, you probably know what I’m referring to: that great feeling of feeling pressed enough that you start to work on your projects early, which results in a less stressed experience overall. This is what I always strive for, but right now, I can’t remember ever being in that state. If the reason why I can’t remember is that it never happened, that’s a little sad. But then again, if the reason I can’t remember is that I forgot about ever having such an experience, then it’s ironic. Speaking in terms of this month’s challenge, of course.

I have started studying for one of the midterms I have this week. The problem is that I have not one, not two, but three of them. Of course I have been studying for them before this, but there is still a lot of information to consolidate.

The only thing making me feel a little better is the fact that I’ll have an entire week to relax after this. Hopefully, I’ll have at least one day in which I will be able to relax without having to worry about the things I have to do.

Something I got to do today was use the numbers I memorized yesterday, by employing the rhymify technique. Guess what! I was able to remember all of them, plus a bonus one. Though three numbers might not seem like a lot (perhaps because it isn’t!), I can’t help but feel proud of my accomplishment. You can call it whatever you want, but I’ll go with “accomplishment”.

As I’ve said in yesterday’s post, I always had problems with remembering numbers. That was just a given for me. The fact that now I was able to effortlessly recall numbers that have nothing to do with me is quite exciting! I’m hoping the rest of this month will bring many more moments like this! 🙂

 

/Larisa

  • Confused about what’s going on? Click here!
  • For the post that started this challenge, click here.
  • For yesterday’s entry, click here.
Let me know what you think!

