Memory Month Day 3: A Blessing in Disguise

This weekend my friend and I were talking about blessings in disguise. The inherent problem with these is that sometimes, they disguise themselves so well, you can’t even recognize them for what they are. Other times, they’re not disguised that well, but you might find yourself too busy to notice them.

DSCN0637

As we were having our quick conversation over this subject matter, I realized that I had experienced this sort of thing recently. On Thursday last week, I found myself desperately looking for my Ipod before leaving home. I had already missed the first bus, but I wasn’t worried because I knew I could afford to miss it. The problem was that the next bus was coming shortly, and I had not left the house.

So there I was, searching for the damn thing in all the places where it was supposed to be. I was getting frustrated because I knew I had had it in my hands just 10 minutes beforehand. You must know the feeling too…There’s nothing like it to ruin an entire day.

Thing is, I really wanted my Ipod. Really, really wanted it. I had used it pretty much every day for the past few years and it was hard to imagine going to my classes without it. I mean, what would I do without it?!

In the end, I had to give the search up and leave without it. As silly as it sounds, it was pretty hard to do, but I gathered up the “courage” and did it.

And then something surprising happened. I did not feel “incomplete” without it. Quite the contrary, in fact. I felt relieved and calm.

At this point, you might be wondering what does this whole thing have to do with memory, or with this week. You’re quite right to wonder that, but let me tell you that it has everything to do with memory.

We keep our minds constantly busy. We have necessary thoughts cluttering our world, and to silence them up, we turn the music up. Just a little bit louder, until we can’t hear our own minds anymore. Just a little bit louder, until we ‘ll all go deaf.

The problem is, we don’t wonder what we’re doing to our minds in this process of “shutting them up”. You see, shutting your mind up is good, from times to times. But it depends on how you do it. Meditating, for example, is a great way.

Constantly listening to music? Not so much. Now, don’t get me wrong! I’m a huge fan of listening to music (as I’ve pointed out in the beginning of this post). But I think I need to learn to allow my mind time to breathe. Just allow it at least a few days in which it can relax.

That’s the decision I took today, as I turned off my Ipod. I’ve heard multiple times that constantly bombarding yourself with music can be detrimental to thinking in general, so I used this as the main reason for doing it. (Given, of course, that it matters a lot what type of music you’re listening to.)

So that’s what I did today. Hopefully it will pay off, and my memory will become at least slightly better.

/Larisa

  • Confused about what’s going on? Click here!
  • For the post that started this challenge, click here.
  • For yesterday’s entry, click here.
Let me know what you think!

