Memory Month Day 2: Homework and Acronyms Go Together Better than Expected

Today was most definitely not a fun day. Not at all. I was pretty much immersed in school work the entire day. This means that I changed activities between my German homework (of which there was a lot), and studying for my Statistics class.

The only moment in which I relaxed today was when I went on a walk, just as the sun was setting. These are the little things that keep me sane.

DSCN0984

But, back to the topic of the post, I did actually have one moment of excitement amid the utter “sadness” I was dealing with. That moment was when I realized that I can use acronyms to help me do some exercises for German. (By the way, I’m just staring to study the language, which means that I am not even remotely acquainted enough with it).

Without getting into the depth of German grammar, I’ll tell you this: for one exercise I had to fill in some verb forms. I kept forgetting which verbs I could use, because the verb bank was at the top of the page, and I was reaching the bottom. My first approach was to keep scrolling back up to look at the verb bank. That proved to be extremely inefficient.

Then, I considered writing the options down. Though this would have been the best way, I reminded myself that this month I’m supposed to use mnemonic devices to remember. Not to practice my handwriting (especially since I get more than enough practice at that). So I quickly made an acronym of the verbs I could use. By simply putting the first letters of each of the available verbs together, I was able to remember them efficiently.

Well, I also had to rush it. I mean, really rush it. That’s because the method of the acronyms, at least as I used it today only helped my working (aka short-term) memory. So I went really fast through the exercise, struggling not to let my short term memory leak out the ever precious information.

So, to summarize today’s experience with mnemonics, I can say this:

Acronyms are helpful when used to remember something for a short amount of time. They also seem to work better when there are a lot of vowels as opposed to a lot of consonants.

But then again, that makes sense. We are used to dealing with words that have vowels carefully placed in them to make pronunciation easier. So I guess acronyms are easier to be imprinted in our minds if they functioned as if they were words.

That’s about it for today! Let’s see what tomorrow will bring in terms of mnemonics 🙂

Have a wonderful week!

/Larisa

  • Confused about what’s going on with this post? Click here to find out!
  • The post that started this series can be found here.
  • For yesterday’s entry, click here.
Let me know what you think!

