On Red John’s Final Moments

Simon Baker, aka The Mentalist
Simon Baker, aka The Mentalist (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

If you haven’t watched the last episode of The Mentalist (Red John), then skip this post 🙂 . I don’t want to ruin the reveal for anybody.

So, initially, I wasn’t going to write about this, since it pretty much has nothing to do with the topic of this blog. However, because I am a big fan of the show, and because I just made a post about a book on How to Be a Mentalist, I decided to allow myself to do it. Who knows! Maybe in the future this blog will be about life, books, and the TV show The Mentalist 🙂 . 

Well, probably not, but I do like to keep my options open.

To get down to the topic: Red John was revealed last night, and the reveal surprised me, but not really. I’ve read countless of comments on other blogs saying that it seems strange that McAllister was the only one of the three people who were members of the Blake Association, and who was killed (since they were all in a part of the room where they should have been safe).

What do you think of the way in which Patrick ended Red John’s life? I personally thought it was a nice touch (at least as far as a murder goes), having him killed by Patrick’s bare hand. I found the moment to be quite emotional too, especially when Jane asked him if he was sorry to have killed his wife and daughter, and if he was afraid to die.

Quite frankly, to me at least, it’s pretty obvious he was lying when he answered “yes” to the first question. I mean, just a few scenes ago he had appeared confident, and quite proud of his position. The affirmative answer to the second question, however, seemed to me to be true, simply because it fits with his previous behavior.

All in all, I believe the team behind the show did a spectacular job, both with the end of the Red John saga, but also with giving the fans something to be interested in for the next few episodes. As far as I’m concerned, I’d love to know how the whole issue of the Blake Association will be solved (because, after all, there are members out there who are still alive), but I’m also interested in what’s going to happen to the CBI.

What are your thoughts on the show?

Check out this post I made on the book “How to Be a Mentalist: Master the Secrets Behind the Hit TV Show”, by Simon Winthrop!

Let me know what you think!

