Horror Short Stories Time!

Since Halloween is this Thursday, I decided to turn away from the usual content I post here, and work with something that’s related to Halloween.  So, despite not being a huge fan of the horror genre in general, I decided to ease my way into it by reading some horror short stories.

The Werewolf of Fever Swamp (TV special)
The Werewolf of Fever Swamp (TV special) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I think I read about five, and ….big surprise… I didn’t like any of them. That is, until I somehow got the wonderful idea of looking up horror stories that are two sentences long. I had heard about them a few years ago, but I was never very interested in them, so I didn’t look ‘em up.

Big mistake. Seriously! Despite not being too keen in the whole horror thing, I found I loved them! It’s amazing just how they can tell stories that gave me the creeps in such a short amount of space. Absolutely wonderful!

Just a few examples, along with the users who created them:

jmperson : The last thing I saw was my alarm clock flashing 12:07 before she pushed her long rotting nails through my chest, her other hand muffling my screams. I sat bolt upright, relieved it was only a dream, but as I saw my alarm clock read 12:06, I heard my closet door creak open.

skuppy : My daughter won’t stop crying and screaming in the middle of the night. I visit her grave and ask her to stop, but it doesn’t help.

Xresident :I reach my hand out to the mirror in front of me to offer some stability, but instead of cold glass against my hand, I feel the warm flesh of a palm, and looking up I see my reflection. Funny, it doesn’t feel like I’m smiling, but I must be.

After I finished reading some (a lot) of these, I worked up the energy to read just one more horror  short story (one of a more regular length). Thankfully, I ended up liking it, and I’m quite sure it isn’t just because I was “primed” by all these super short stories.

The story I’m talking about is called The Monkey’s Paw , by W.W. Jacobs, and it is the most interesting horror short stories I’ve read. I know that might not be saying much, since it just so happened that it was only the 6th one, but quite frankly, I wasn’t expecting to be so taken with it. ( Click here to read it.)

 

The simple fact that it carries deeper meaning and life lessons makes it very valuable in my eyes. However, I will not comment on what the lessons are: I will let you explore them 🙂 .

 

Anyhow, this is it for this Halloween post! Did you enjoy these short stories? Also, let me know if you have any recommendations, as I am new to this entire genre!

 

Let me know what you think!

